First in Himachal Pradesh - Himachal Pradesh General Knowledge

In our previous post, we talked about the Council of Minister of HP and Famous Places & Institutions in Himachal Pradesh.

Today we discuss about those events or proceedings that have the tag of 'being first' in Himachal Pradesh. Although it may look like a set of trivial information, but from examination point of view, such questions are commonly asked, irrespective of what type of competitive exam you are appearing in.

 Dr. Y.S. Parmar

First Chief Commissioner - Sh. N.C. Mehta

First Deputy Chief Commissioner - Sh. E.P. Moon

First Lt. Governor - Major General Himmat Singh

Read in Detail: Chief Commissioners & Lt. Governors of HP

First Governor - Sh. S. Chakarvarti

First Woman Governor - Ms. Sheela Kaul 

First Chief Minister - Dr. Y.S. Parmar

First Chief Justice - Justice Mirza Hamidulah Beh

First Woman Chief Justice - Ms. Leela Seth 

First Speaker of Vidhan Sabha - Pt. Jaivant Ram

First Woman Speaker of Vidhan Sabha - Smt. Vidya Stokes

First Deputy Speaker of Vidhan Sabha - Sh. Krishna Chander

First Chief Secretary - K.L. Mehta (ICS)

First Lokayukta - Justice T.V.R. Tattachari

Read in Detail: Lokayukta of HP

First Chairman of H.P. Administrative Tribunal - Justice Hira Singh Thakur

First Vice-Chancellor of H.P. University - Dr. Ram Karan Singh

First Vice-Chancellor of Agriculture University Palampur - Dr. Het Ram Kalia

First Vice-Chancellor of Horticulture University, Nauni, Solan - Dr. M.R.Thakur

First Governor to die in office - Sh. Surendra Nath

First Woman to represent in Lok Sabha - Rajkumari Amrit Kaur

First Woman Minister in the Union Cabinet(Health) - Rajkumari Amrit Kaur

First Member in the Rajya Sabha - Sh. Chiranji Lal Verma

First Education Director - Sh. K.L. Sethi

First Winner of Victoria Cross - Sh. Jamadar lalaram

First Winner of Param Vir Chakra - Major Somnath Sharma 

First Winner of Mahavir Chakra - Lt. Col. Kaman Singh

First Winner of Vir Chakra - Havildar Topge

First President Police Medal Recipient - Sh. Gangir Singh

First Chairman of H.P.P.S.C Shimla- Lt. Gen. K.S. Katoch

First Chairman of H.P.S.S.S.B Hamirpur - Sh. K.C. Malhotra

First Person to climb Mount Everest -  Sh. Sunil Sharma

Yongest Girl to climb Everest - Ms. Dicky Dolma

First to represent India in Olympic Hockey - Sh. Charanjit Singh

First Chief Information Commissioner - Sh. P.S. Rana 

First Judicial Commissioner - Justice J.N. Banerjee

First Woman Chief Secretary - Smt. Asha Swaroop

First Police Chief (IGP) - Sh. S.R. Chaudhary 

First Army Chief from H.P - Gen. V.N. Sharma

First Radio Station in H.P - Shimla

First Private Radio Station in H.P - 91.9 BIG FM, Shimla

First Hydel Project executed by State Govt. - Giri Hydel Project

First Hydro Project with underground switch yard - Sanjay Vidyut Pariyojna

Read in Detail: Hydro Power Projects in HP

First Railway line - Kalka - Shimla (Nov,9,1903)

First Lok Sabha Election - 1952 A.D.

First Vidhan Sabha Election - November 1951

First Five Year Plan - 1951 - 1956

First Pucca House in Shimla - Kennedy House (1822 A.D.)

First Governor-General to Visit India - Lord Amherst (1827 A.D.) 

First Recipient of Dr. Y.S. Parmar Award - Mian Geverdhan Singh 

First Recipient of Pahari Gandhi Baba Kanshi Ram Award - Sh. Jai Dev Kiran

First Recipient of Chanderdhar Sharma Guleri Award - Sh. Keshav Narayan

First Recipient of Parshu Ram Award - Suman Rawat (In Athletics)

First National Teacher Award Winner - Sh. Prakash Chand

First Person from Himachal to become CJI - Justice Mehar Chand Mahajan

First Mughal Ruler of Kangra - Akbar

First Private University - Japee University of IT, Waknaghat

First Heritage City - Mandi

First Village in India to be given Heritage status in 1997 A.D. -Pragpur

First IT Park - Mauja Majhol (Wakhanaghat)
Oldest Fort - Nagarkot (Kangra) Fort

Oldest Princely State - Trigarta (Kangra)

Oldest Democracy in the World - Malana (Kullu)

Oldest Himachali Newspaper - Kshetriye Tej

Oldest Painting School of HP - Basholi School of Painting

Read more: History of District Mandi
Share on Google Plus

Author: Karun

    Blogger Comment


Popular Posts