Brief History of Himachal Pradesh (Part - 8) - Himachal Pradesh General Knowledge

1986 A.D. – Himachal Pradesh Administrative Tribunal was established. The first Chairmanship was Justice Hira Singh.

1989 A.D. – River Rafting was introduced in Himachal Pradesh.

1990 A.D. –  On August 15 1990, the Antodya Programme to help the “Poorest of the poor was launched.

1991 A.D. – 1) On January 11, 1991, 14 km long Nangal – Una broad-gauge railway line was inaugurated by the then Railway Minster Janeshwar Mishra .

2) On August 5, Smt. Leela Seth became the first woman Chief Justice of High Court (H.P.) in India.

1992 A.D. – First BJP Government in Himachal Pradesh headed by Sh. Shanta Kumar was dissolved under Article 356 of Indian Constitution and President Rule was imposed in the state for the second time.

1993 A.D. Dicky Dolma of District Kullu became the youngest girl in the World to scale the Mt. Everest (8848 m).

1994 A.D – First Himachal Pradesh State Finance Commission was constituted on April 23.

1998 A.D. – Himachal Pradesh Subordinate Service Selection Board was established at Hamirpur. The first Chairman of HPSSSB was K.C. Malhotra.

1999 A.D. –1) Cricketer Rajiv Nayyar of Himachal Pradesh made the World Record by staying at the batting crease for 16 hours and 57 minutes.

2) On August 15, Paramvir Chakra (the Highest Wartime Gallantry Award of India) was awarded to Captain Vikram Batra (posthumously) and Rifleman Sanjay Kumar for their courage and bravery in the Kargil War (code named Operation Vijay).

1999 – 2000 A.D. – National Agriculture Insurance Scheme (Rasthriya Krishi Bima Yojna) came into force in H.P.

2002 A.D. –1) On May 26, Prime Minister of India Atal Bihari Vajpayee laid the foundation stone of Rohtang Tunnel which is 8.9 km. long (Asia’s Highest & India’s Longest Traffic Tunnel).

2) Sumresh Jung of District Sirmaur won Gold Medal in Shooting 17th Commonwealth Games in Manchester (U.K.)

2005 A.D. – The Winter Session of the State Assembly (held from December 26-29, 2005) was historic as the Vidhan Sabha met outside the Shimla for the first time. The Session was held at Prayas Bhawan, Dharmsala.

2006 A.D. – On December 18, H.P. Power Corporation was established...continue reading

Kindly point out the mistakes, if any, in the comment section.

Happy Reading!

Share on Google Plus

Author: Karun

    Blogger Comment


Post a Comment

Popular Posts