Brief History of Himachal Pradesh (Part - 3) - Himachal Pradesh General Knowledge

1805 A.D. – Gorkha Commander Amar Singh Thapa attacked the Kangra fort against Raja Sansar Chand-II as his first encounter took place at Mahal Morian (presently in Hamirpur District).

1809 A.D. – 1) Sansar Chand–II and Maharaja Ranjeet Singh signed Treaty of Jawalamukhi on July 20, 1809.

2) Raja Sansar Chand–II, Maharaja Ranjeet Singh’s forces under Mohkam Chand defeated Amar Singh Thapa and took possession of Kangra fort on August 24, 1809. Desa Singh Majithia was appointed as the Governor of Kangra Hills by Maharaja Ranjeet Singh.

1815 A.D. – 1) Anglo-Gorkha war between the British Armed Forces lead by Major General Ochterlony and Gorkhas lead by Amar Singh Thapa.

2) Treaty of Sangauli was signed between the British and Amar Singh Thapa  on November 28, 1815.

1820 A.D. – William Moorcraft became the first European to visit Kullu on his way to Laddakh.

1822 A.D. –  Major Kennedy founded Shimla Town (first Pucca house known as Kennedy House).

1824 A.D. – Death of Raja Sansar Chand-II of Kangra.

1827 A.D. Lord Amrherst was the first Governor-General of India to visit Shimla.

1832 A.D. Barnes’ Court, (official residence of the Governor of Himachal Pradesh) the Tudor Style heritage building was built in Shimla. Here the historic Shimla Agreement between India and Pakistan was signed in 1972.

1839 A.D. – Sikh Army under General Ventura was sent to Mandi.

1844 A.D. – United Service Club (US Club) was founded at Shimla.

1846 A.D. – 1) Sikhs were defeated by the British in the Battle of Sabraon on February 10.

2) OMay 9, 1846, First Anglo-Sikh war ended with the Treaty of Lahore, . Chamba, Kangra, Kullu & Lahaul-Spiti came under the direct control of British.

1850 A.D. – Lord Dalhausie annexed Baghat State under the Doctrine of Lapse. It was the only State from Himachal Pradesh which was annexed under the Doctrine of Lapse.

1851 A.D. – Construction of Hindustan – Tibet National Highway was started by Lord Dalhausie.

1852 A.D. – Shimla Municipal Committee was established.

1854 A.D. – Dalhausie Town was founded by Lord Dalhousie.

1857 A.D. – 1) Under the leadership of Subedar Bhim Singh, Jutogh Rebellion took place.

2) The only hill state which opposed the British rule during the First War of Independence was Erstwhile Rampur Bushahr under Raja Samsher Singh...Continue reading

Kindly point out the mistakes, if any, in the comment section.

Happy Reading! 

See Also: Recommended Books for HAS/HPAS -2015

Share on Google Plus

Author: Karun

    Blogger Comment


Popular Posts