History of District Una - Himachal Pradesh General Knowledge

In this post, we discuss briefly about the history of Una district of the state of Himachal Pradesh. 

Kindly point out the mistakes ,if any, in the comment section.

Happy Reading!

The present district Una comprises of two princely states viz. Jaswan and Kutlehr.

Jaswan state:
  • The old name of Una was Jaswan.
  • The capital of Jaswan was Rajpur near Amb which was founded by Purab Chand in 1170 A.D.
Kutlehr state:
  • Formerly princely state Kutlehr is a part of Una district.
  • Kutlehr was smallest of all principalities in the Kangra area.
  • The capital of Kutlehr state was Kot-Kutlehr.
Other important information about district Una:
  • Headquarter: Una
  • Altitude: 750 meters
  • Languages: Pahari (Punjabi), Punjabi, Hindi.
  • The district Una lies between North latitude 31°21’ to 31°50’ and East longitude 71°55’ to 76°28’.
  • The district Una was created in 1972 A.D.
  • Jaswan Dun valley lies in Una District.
  • The only river which flows through the district Una is Swan. 

Share on Google Plus

Author: Karun

    Blogger Comment


Popular Posts